Comedy Legend Awards

The Aardman Slapstick Comedy Legend Award celebrates the lifetime achievements of contemporary comedians who have contributed significantly to the world of comedy.

2024:  Robert Lindsay

2017 French & Saunders

For one night only, the Aardman Slapstick Awards presented a unique opportunity to see comedy legends Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders in conversation.

Celebrating 30 years since the launch of their award-winning TV Series French & Saunders (1987-2007) this was a rare chance to see the pair together on stage as they discuss their legendary careers with presenter, actor & comedian Mel Giedoryc.

Following this, they were presented with the prestigious Aardman Slapstick Comedy Legend Award; an accolade for their phenomenal achievement as multi-award-winning writer/performers who not only pioneered a new wave of comedy but influenced whole generations of artists that followed.

On hearing they had won the award Dawn joked:

“I just can’t believe we are receiving the Comedy Legend Award from Aardman and Slapstick Festival. Actually, wait a minute … on second thoughts I can, because it’s happening on 22nd June and I’ve already bought a lovely new top s’pecially …”

As well as exclusive onscreen extracts of their work, this standout comedy award event featured more than its fair share of surprises, including messages and special guests.

The Aardman Slapstick Comedy Legend Award with Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders took place on Thursday 22nd June 2017 at 7:30 at a sold out Colston Hall.

2016 Sir Ken Dodd OBE

Slapstick and Aardman Animations were honoured to present the “Comedy Legend Award” to Sir Ken Dodd. A fantastic night was had by all as Ken regaled the audience with his tales of his incredible, and very funny, career.

2015 Barry Cryer OBE

On March 20th 2015 the Aardman Slapstick Comedy Legend award was presented to the great Barry Cryer OBE. In conversation with Graeme Garden, Barry reminisced over some of his many achievements, giving audiences a wonderful and hilarious insight into one of the UK’s great comedic talents!

Barry is a great supporter of Slapstick Festival, so it was a honour for the team to be able to recognise his contribution to comedy!

2014  Barry Humphries CBE

In 2014 the “Comedy Legend Award” was presented to Australian legendary performer Barry Humphries CBE. Internationally famed for creating the character Dame Edna Everage, Barry in conversation with Marcus Brigstocke, looked back at the origins of Dame Edna, Les Patterson and other characters of his creation, offering a unique insight into the career of the world’s favourite performer and his Melbourne house wife alter ego.

Cited work included: The Dame Edna Experience, The Barry Humphries Show, Chickens (2013) and early film work.

2013 June Whitfield CBE

The inaugural recipient of the award was June Whitfield CBE at Slapstick 2013 and during a presentation at Bristol Old Vic June looked back over her career spanning more than six decades.

Cited works include: Absolutely Fabulous, Hancock’s Half Hour and the Carry On films.